The Diving Bell and The Butterfly

Todd, Mo and Tim Working The Track

Todd, Mo and Tim Working The Track

The weekly track sessions are attracting more runners and some of the local legends are now regulars. How can you not be inspired running repeats on the last 1/4 mile of the Western States course with Tim Twietmeyer hot on your heels? I went to bed around 11 PM last night and my body felt spent from the repeats. I’m not sure if Troy is trying to kill me or make me faster.  

I just read a book that I do not think I will ever forget. I read the story of a man on top of the world, only to survive a rare stroke that leaves him with just one method of communicating: blinking his left eye. He is locked in a body he can no longer move or control. Of course all the things he took for granted are now memories. He is what we might call a vegetable, but by using his left eye he “writes” an entire book and gives us a glimpse into his world – a world you might easily pass by and never know existed. You can read it in one or two evenings. I picked it up and could not put it down. I fell asleep with him on my mind and I had to finish it the next night. If you haven’t already read it, read The Diving Bell and The Bufferfly by Jean-Dominique Bauby.

Leave a Reply

