Party for Michael in Blanchester, OH (TS41)

At this point, Michael’s goal is to be a RAAM Finisher.  There isn’t any other solo riders behind him, but there is a clock ahead of him that is counting down the minutes until the race is over.  We all believe he will make it.  He believes he will make it.  When he is not riding his bike he is running marathons and 50k races, 50 milers and 100 mile endurance runs.  Then he’ll throw in both and add a swim and do an Iron Man triathalon.  The Clif Bar Pacer Team he paces with came out to meet him at the Blanchester, OH time station to lift his spirits and pull him out of the race for an hour.  He needed it and if posting his second fastest time station average on the way in to Blanchester since Greensburg, KS (TS24) or constantly looking around and waving good-bye as he rode out to loud cheering is any indication, it meant a lot to him. 

raam_blanchester_party_505

If you look closely, you can tell who the crew is – they are the ones with the glazed looks in their eyes.  Michael has his proudest tired face on, apparently drawing energy from Nicole’s smile and the box of chinese food in his hand.  Just another “day on a road trip” for little Dylan.  The time station staff joined in the party and Captain Doug Phillis was so kind to offer the crew some ice, water and cookies for the rest of the trip. 

At the end of the day, if you can enjoy friends, see the sun rise and the sun set, take a bike ride and have a cookie you can count it as a good day.  Today was a good day for Team Cook.

And when the party was over – it was back to work for Michael and the crew.

raam_ohionightrider

3 thoughts on “Party for Michael in Blanchester, OH (TS41)

  1. Very best wishes to you all, something special for you all to look back on and savour.
    Michael, your spirit comes accross very strongly.
    You will make it. Dig in and dig in some more.

    Sincerely Andy Walsh

  2. I sit here at a loss for words and anyway, I don’t think I have ever spent so much time thinking about another woman’s husband. Hours on end to be exact. I come home after a tough day at work, 13+ hours on my feet, my eyes are tired, and I know I have to do it again the next day, but wait, I get to shower and climb into a nice bed for at least six hours. And I complain that six hours of sleep isn’t enough. Following Team Cook has certainly helped me to put those hours into perspective. Circles Michael, just keep peddling circles. And Nicole and team, you guys are awesome. xoxo lisa

  3. “Life is a Highway”

    What an uplifting day it was for Team Cook….glad to see you had a time to savor a few moments together! Now back on the road onward to Annapolis!

    OK, so you may think I’m the delirious one now, but have a request to the Crew to help keep everyone pumped up tonight.

    On my way home from work, was in the “Michael” zone thinking about today’s progress & what a strong soul he continues to be, wondering how his Achilles tendon is holding up, amazed at his incredible ability to be clocked at 24 mph on Day 9 (yep, I’m consumed by this race!), and overjoyed by the outpouring of support he has across the country. While in the ‘zone’, on came Rascal Flatts singing one of their top hits – a pick-me-up” song with great rhythm, and an upbeat & lively chorus — vitalizing music that makes everything good, distracts you from the moment and makes you want to get out there and dance (or, as in Michael’s case, RIDE!). Next thing I know, I started relating this song to Michael and his RAAM Race…(I think I can relate just about anything to Michael right about now!) ..S-o-o-o-o-o what we need you to do is turn on some country music tonight, crank up the radio and play “Life is A Highway” and (Michael’s) gonna ride it all night long!!!!! If you don’t have reception, well….you’re just going to have to SING it to him!!!!!!. Check it out..Here are the lyrics (From here on out, this will be the “Michael’s RAAM-BO Song”). Pump it UP!

    Life’s like a road that you travel on
    When there’s one day here an’ the next day gone
    Sometimes you bend, sometimes you stand
    Sometimes you turn your back to the wind

    There’s a world outside every darkened door
    Where blues won’t haunt you anymore
    Where brave are free an’ lovers soar
    Come ride with me to the distant shore

    We won’t hesitate
    Ta’ break down the garden gate
    There’s not much time left today, yeahea…

    {Chorus:}
    Life is a highway
    I wanna ride it all night long
    If you’re going my way
    Well, I wanna drive it all night long

    Through all these cities an’ all these towns
    It’s in my blood an’ it’s all around
    I love you now like I loved you then
    This is the road an’ these are the hands
    From Mozambique to those Memphis nights
    The Khyber Pass to Vancouver’s lights

    Knock me down, an’ back up again
    You’re in my blood
    I’m not a lonely man

    There’s no load I can’t hold
    Road so rough, this I know
    I’ll be there when the light comes in
    Just tell ’em we’re survivors

    {Chorus:}
    Life is a highway
    Well, I wanna ride it all night long
    If you’re going my way
    I wanna drive it all night long (all night long)

    (Ah, Gimme, gimme, gimme, gimme, yeah!)

    {Chorus:}
    Life is a highway
    Well, I wanna ride it all night long
    (Hmmmmm, yeah!)
    If you’re going my way (you’re goin’ my way)
    I wanna drive it all night long (all night long)

    There was a distance between you an’ I (between you and I)
    A misunderstanding once
    But now we look it in the eye
    Ooooohh, yeah!
    (Mmmm, yeah
    Ah, hm, hm, hm, hm)

    There ain’t no load that I can’t hold
    A road so rough, this I know
    I’ll be there when the light comes in
    Tell ’em we’re survivors

    {Chorus:}
    Life is a highway
    Well, I wanna ride it all night long (all night long, yeah)
    If you’re goin’ my way
    Well, I wanna drive it all night long

    (Ah, gimme, gimme, gimme
    Gimme, gimme, yeah!)

    {Chorus:}
    Life is a highway (life is a highway)
    I wanna ride it all night long
    (Ooooo, yeah)
    You’re going my way (you’re goin’ my way)
    I wanna drive it all night long (all night long, yeah)

    (C’mon!
    Ah gimme, gimme, gimme, gimme, gimme, gimme, yeah!)

    {Chorus:}
    Life is a highway
    I wanna ride it all night long (yeah, I wanna drive it all night long, baby)
    If you’re goin’ my way (you’re goin’ my way)
    I wanna drive it all night long (all night long)

Leave a Reply

