Official Crew Report

raam_michael_night

On day seven of RAAM Michael had started his night ride while Jody and I followed in the Jeep.  The ride was on a newly paved stretch of road which lead to a pleasant ride, barring the debris left periodically in the fog lane by the road construction crew.  Seriously, could they not pick up the yellow reflectors instead of leaving them in piles??

During this leg of the race, a media van would pull up along side us and take multiple pictures of Michael.  When a few shots had been taken, and we were all left with temporary light blindness, they would pull ahead before they impeded traffic.  Continuing on they would be pulled over on the side of the road and take more shots of Michael approaching.  They would then catch up to us and take more.  This continued for awhile and the media pulled this off safely and professionaly and this is one of the resulting shots taken in total darkness with only a flash.  Nice work!

This part of the journey was pleasant.  A lightning show played off the our left and accompanied us on our way.  However, what was at first a pleasure turned into a VERY strong wind and we were called by Pete and told that a strong storm was approaching.  Coming into a small town the traffic lights were swinging and further progress was highly dangerous for Michael.

As part of the night crew Jody and I have the pleasure of following Michael when traffic is light outside of the cities.  The temps have cooled although in the  humidity in the east remains high, the worse of which was last night riding along the Mississippi.  And don’t get me started on the bugs!  Us Californian’s wilt in the humidity.  And it is especially disturbing when your car windows fog up on the OUTSIDE!

Michael’s spirits are HIGH and he is very positive.  Riding in the heat and humidity does take its toll on the body along with some aches and pains.  Tonight he will be taking a prolonged rest to prepare him for the rest of the ride.  It looks like the night crew will have the time off to catch up on some sleep.

He is an awesome athlete and an even better person.  In some of the worst situations he keeps his cool, which lets us do our job and not panic.  I am proud to be his aunt.

Valerie

5 thoughts on “Official Crew Report

  1. Speaking to, and better – seeing Michael and Jody last night on the video feed was AMAZING!! Holy cow Michael – you look so NORMAL. Yikes, a lesser person would be manic. Way to stay grounded, focused and positive. Thinking of you and what you are overcoming makes me choke up. Since crying is frowned upon here at Ohio State, I’ll stop typing now and say we are getting ready for your arrival. Look for the pacer balloons!!!

  2. I am so happy for Michael! I was working the starting line in Oceanside and didn’t know you guys were from Auburn, I live in Sacramento! I have a few good photos of Michael in his Cookie Monster Jersey at the starting line posted on my facebook. I’m sure you already have a ton, but I would love to pass these on if you would like them.
    Great job crew, you are all doing an azmazing job keeping Michael safe, upright and fed on the road.
    Congratulations to you all!

    facebook.com/deirdre.greenholz

    Deirdre Malone Greenholz

  3. Hey Michael,
    A few inspirational quotes to keep you going.

    You have to expect things of yourself before you can do them.
    -Michael Jordan

    Besides pride, loyalty, discipline, heart, and mind, confidence is the key to all the locks.
    -Joe Paterno

    The principle is competing against yourself. It’s about self-improvement, about being better than you were the day before.
    -Steve Young

    The difference between the impossible and the possible lies in a mans determination.
    -Tommy Lasorda

    If you can believe it, the mind can achieve it.
    -Ronnie Lott

    I learned that if you want to make it bad enough, no matter how bad it is, you can make it.
    -Gale Sayers

    We are all watching with complete amazement! You are an incredible human being. We are so proud of you all!!

    PS.. The same goes for the crew, you are the light that keeps shining!!!
    GO TEAM!

  4. Michael-
    We’ve never met, but I’m an Auburn neighbor of yours, a fellow cyclist and father, and a mutual friend of Robin & Troy Soares. I’ve been following you on Twitter for a couple months and tracking your progress daily since the race began. I’m not generally a very emotional person, but I have to admit that my eyes well up a bit when I think of you and what you must be going through right now. You’re a courageous man and an inspiration.
    I’ve been telling my kids about how you’re riding across the country right now. I knew it was getting through when my oldest son asked if I ever slept on my bike. Now I can’t stop daydreaming about doing the race on a 4-man team with my three sons some day…
    Anyhow, I want you to know that you have a lot of people pulling for you. And at least one publicly grumpy man who has to shut his office door every day before checking out your progress – for fear of being caught crying.
    I’m praying for you and willing you all the energy, clarity and determination I can. Ride strong to the finish. Ride strong.

Leave a Reply

