Goodbye Illinois – Hello Indiana

This is an important day for Michael and he is riding with everything he’s got.  It’s such a relief to look up at the map and see him moving and moving over 20mph.  And the support for Team Cook is coming out of nowhere – like this one:

Michael-
We’ve never met, but I’m an Auburn neighbor of yours, a fellow cyclist and father, and a mutual friend of Robin Troy Soares. I’ve been following you on Twitter for a couple months and tracking your progress daily since the race began. I’m not generally a very emotional person, but I have to admit that my eyes well up a bit when I think of you and what you must be going through right now. You’re a courageous man and an inspiration.

I’ve been telling my kids about how you’re riding across the country right now. I knew it was getting through when my oldest son asked if I ever slept on my bike. Now I can’t stop daydreaming about doing the race on a 4-man team with my three sons some day…

Anyhow, I want you to know that you have a lot of people pulling for you. And at least one publicly grumpy man who has to shut his office door every day before checking out your progress – for fear of being caught crying.

I’m praying for you and willing you all the energy, clarity and determination I can. Ride strong to the finish. Ride strong.

raam_nextstopIndiana

One thought on “Goodbye Illinois – Hello Indiana

  1. With what seems like a blink of the eye (easy for us to say!) you have just added another 200 miles to your trip and checked off not 1,not 2 but THREE more Time Stations. What else should we expect from someone who, on Day 8 of an incredibly challenging race, was clocked at riding a whopping 23 miles per hour — something some of us can’t do on a good Day 1!). WAY TO GO!

    Feels like a fresh spark and newfound energy have filled your soul Michael……that’s the way to do it……let the sun’s solar-power boost your energy & and go for the gusto! It’s Home Stretch time! …..and yes Good-Bye Illinois, H-e-l-l-o Indiana! Michael can’t stay long as he’s got a job to do and OH, WV, PA & MD are all waitin’ to see him!

Leave a Reply

