The Long Road Ahead

Dylan On The Western States Trail

Dylan On The Western States Trail

This evening, we took Dylan on a hike along the last few miles of the Western States trail in Auburn and we met some new friends. This is a section of the Western States trail that I run a couple times a week so it was good to walk it with Nicole and Dylan. Tomorrow, I have the Way Too Cool 50K. I’m looking forward to it and to practice the art of suffering and working hard. I’ll be wearing my Auburn Running shirt and be thinking of Dan (owner of the local running store) as he is going through radiation this week. The dry week of no rain should give us good running trails tomorrow. I have the MP3 player loaded and the new Bruce Springsteen and U2 albums. Once again, a low miles week on the bike but will do a good ride on Sunday and start rapidly increasing the weekend miles. With the longer days, I will try to take one longer ride during the week after work. I’m still not fully grasping the enormity of RAAM. But first I need to get past tomorrow and the starting gun for Way Too Cool goes off tomorrow morning at 8 AM. (Relatively late start but I will take it!) So I better head to bed.

Leave a Reply

